Have You Played Atari Today?

Answer: I have.

endlabels

I was born into an era where my first video game console was the Super Nintendo and shortly after, the Playstation came and I cherished both of these consoles to death. Games such as Super Mario World, Super Punch-Out, Crash Bandicoot, Donkey Kong Country, and countless other games occupied my time.

For my dad, he grew up with the Atari 2600; for years, he would recount stories about games he had played such as Decathlon, Space Invaders, and Dig Dug. Today, we went to a video game convention; that went okay and I bought a shirt as well as Atari’s, E.T. I bought the game as a joke mainly because now I own a copy of E.T. and I only paid three dollars for a game that is considered the worst game ever made. After walking around for about an hour or so at the convention, me and my dad decided to leave and we went to a video game store that specialized in retro video game stuff. We only went here because one of the vendors told us that he ran a store right down the road from where the convention was being taken place.

et2600screen3

After browsing the store for about fifteen minutes, my dad came to the realization that this store was in possession of an Atari 2600. I walked around the store and found some cool things that I might want to keep an eye on down-the-road but he was curious about the Atari 2600. He owned an Atari 2600 as a kid but said he doesn’t know what happened to it and the store was selling it for a relatively cheap price. After much debate, he decided to purchase the console and we ended up picking up four or five games for it.

nostalgia-video-game

When we got home, my dad immediately set up the Atari in the living room while I ate some lunch. The system worked perfectly fine like the clerk at the retro game store said, as did the games that we bought with the system. The system has been a huge hit at home so far and my dad has been loving it. I’ve mainly watched him play the Atari so far but I’ve tried it myself as well; it’s challenging to play a video game console that only consists of one button and one joystick considering how much goes into video games in today’s society. He bought the system on a whim and he’s been more than satisfied because he’s been on a nostalgia trip since earlier this afternoon.

The funny thing about nostalgia is that it never truly dies when it comes to movies, games, TV, etc. Some debate whether this is good or bad but I personally love recounting stuff from my childhood/teenage years. I know Space Jam is a terrible movie but I personally love the movie; I enjoy watching it simply because it reminds me of my time as a kid. This is the mindset when it comes to my dad’s Atari 2600; the games are nothing spectacular compared to today’s video games but without the Atari, we might not have games like Mario today. And because of that, having an Atari 2600 in our household is pretty damn awesome.

gamead_atari_number1

 

Author: mrg1106

I love video games and pop culture in general.

Leave a Reply

